Thiago Sickert – Sunshine State Conference Swimmer of the Year



Nova Southeastern swimmer Thiago Sickert has been named the Sunshine State Conference Swimmer of the Year.

Although he is 26 years old, Thiago is technically a sophomore, because many classes from Brazil did not passover for credit. “Grandpa” to his teammates, Thiago broke 9 school records and 5 SSC records and then led the way at the recent NCAA, Div. II National Championships where he won the 200-yard freestyle title, going 1:35.07. This qualified Thiago for All American status, and he went on to earn that same honor in the 100-yard freestyle, 200-yard freestyle, 50-yard freestyle, 800-yard freestyle relay, and the 400-yard freestyle relay.

Afterwards, Thiago said, “It was my first experience at NCAA Nationals. We had a big, strong group with great support from the staff. The dynamic of the meet was different from what I’m used to in Brazil, the awards were different as well. The field was very strong, many of the times were very competitive for Division II. This group is really strong for next season, we just have to keep working throughout the offseason.”

Coach of the Year

Led by the SSC women’s coach of the year, head coach Hollie Bonewit-Cron, NSU collected the most SSC awards in program history, winning eight of the 20 awards on the women’s side and six of the 20 awards on the men’s side. The next highest combined award total went to Florida Southern with 10.

Other NSU Swimmers Honored

Anton Lobanov (Fr., Novosibirisk, Russia) was named the Men’s SSC Freshman of the Year after breaking two NCAA Division II records in the 100-yard breaststroke and 200-yard breaststroke, winning the national championship in both events. Lobanov broke six school records and eight SSC records over the course of his freshman season.

Bryndis Hansen (Fr., Akureyri, Iceland), the 50-yard freestyle national champion, was named the Women’s SSC Freshman of the Year for her brilliant debut season at NSU. Hansen broke nine school records and 11 SSC records in 2015. Along with her school and SSC records, her national championship time of 22.53 in the 50-free broke the NCAA Division II record at the time.

The women featured four student-athletes on the All-SSC First Team, as Courtney DeVeny (Fr., Estero, Fla.), Hansen, Malin Westman (Fr., Harryda, Sweden) and Emma Lawrenz (Sr., Minnetonka, Minn.) placed in the top eight. DeVeny, the 400-yard individual medley national champion, finished second in points-total to the Women’s SSC Swimmer of the Year from Lynn University, Rebecca Matthews. Emma Wahlstrom (So., Stockholm, Sweden) and Georgina Allin (So., Somerset, England) earned spots on the All-SSC Second Team, the first SSC accolades of their careers.

On the men’s side, Marco Aldabe (So., Alicante, Spain) earned All-SSC First Team after a stellar sophomore campaign. Aldabe won the Men’s SSC Freshman of the Year in 2014. Blake Woodrow (Fr., Fort Myers, Fla.) joined Aldabe on the All-SSC First Team, tied with his conference rival from Florida Southern, Jesus Marin, for the eighth most points at the conference meet.

Rounding out the awards are the Men’s Swimmer of the Year and Freshman of the Year, Sickert and Lobanov, respectively, who earned All-SSC second team for their performances at the conference meet.

Below is the full list of awards, as announced by the conference office.

2015 All-SSC Women’s Swimming Team

 First Team:
Rebecca Matthews (Jr.), Lynn
Courtney DeVeny (Fr.), Nova Southeastern
Bryndis Hansen (Fr.), Nova Southeastern

Brit Bayes (Fr.), Tampa
Malin Westman (Fr.), Nova Southeastern
Alli Crenshaw (Jr.), Florida Southern
Natalia Garriock (Fr.), Saint Leo
Emma Lawrenz (Sr.), Nova Southeastern

Swimmer of the Year: Rebecca Matthews, Lynn
Freshman of the Year: Bryndis Hansen, Nova Southeastern
Coach of the Year: Hollie Bonewit-Cron, 
Nova Southeastern

Second Team:
Kelsey Gouge (Jr.), Florida Southern
Emma Wahlstrom (So.), Nova Southeastern
Thalie Carmigniani (Jr.), Lynn
Heather Burns (Jr.), Florida Southern
Nicole Weber (So.), Saint Leo
Dar Raz (So.), Florida Tech
Georgina Allin (So.), Nova Southeastern
*Jacinda Whittenburg (Fr.), Florida Southern
*Elizabeth Fris, (So.), Florida Southern

2015 All-SSC Men’s Swimming Team

First Team:
Daniel Bis (Fr.), Saint Leo
Pawel Trenda (Jr.), Saint Leo
Marco Palacios (So.), Florida Southern
Raul Garrastazu (Jr.), Florida Southern
Marco Aldabe (So.), Nova Southeastern
Luis Rojas (Sr.), Florida Southern
Evan Jacob (Jr.), Saint Leo
*Blake Woodrow (Fr.), Nova Southeastern
*Jesus Marin (So.), Florida Southern

Swimmer of the Year: Thiago Sickert, Nova Southeastern
Freshman of the Year: Anton Lobanov, Nova Southeastern

Coach of the Year: Duncan Sherrard, Florida Southern

Second Team:
Yagoh Kubagawa (Fr.), Florida Tech
Thiago Sickert (So.), Nova Southeastern
Runar Borgen (So.), Tampa
Jan Urbaniak (Fr.), Saint Leo
Matheus Assis (Jr.), Saint Leo
Anton Lobanov (Fr.), Nova Southeastern
Jeremy Parker (Jr.), Tampa
Juan Tolosa (Jr.), Florida Southern

*Due to a tie in accumulated individual point totals for 8th place, there are nine swimmers on the all-conference first team.