Troy and Dressel Earn SEC Honors


Gregg Troy is SEC Coach of the Year While Caeleb Dressel is SEC Male Freshman Swimmers of the Year

Troy and Dressel

By Will Pantages

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — The Southeastern Conference has announced its annual men’s and women’s swimming & diving awards to cap the 2014-15 season. Florida head coach Gregg Troy was named the conference’s Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year and freshman Caeleb Dressel garnered the SEC’s Male Freshman of the Year award.

In addition, UF placed 23 student-athletes on the conference’s All-SEC first team, second team and All-Freshman squad.

Troy was named the SEC Men’s Coach of the Year for the third year in a row after the Gators brought home their third-straight and 36th overall Southeastern Conference Championship behind three individual titles. The program’s 36 SEC team championships ranks second among all sports in the history of the SEC (Kentucky Men’s Basketball, 45).

The Gators finished in front of second place Georgia (1,134.5) and third place Auburn (1,084) with a total score of 1,314.5 points. Florida was strong in all events, capturing three victories in the 100-yard butterfly (Caeleb Dressel) and the 500-yard freestyle (Mitch D’Arrigo) and earned a relay gold in the 800-yard freestyle event (Dan Wallace, Pawel Werner, Nicholas Alexiou, Mitch D’Arrigo). The Gators pulled away on the last day of competition after entering the final day up only 132 points.

Troy was awarded the conference’s Coach of the Year award for the seventh time in his career.

Dressel, a three-time SEC Freshman Swimmer of the Week (10/14/14, 11/25/14, 2/3/15), becomes the ninth Gator swimmer under Troy’s tutelage to win SEC Male Freshman of the Year. Individually at the conference meet, he won an SEC Championship in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 45.28 seconds and finished runner-up in both the 50-yard (18.93) and 100-yard (41.90) freestyle races.

Dressel was also a member of four top-five finishing relay squads (200 FR, 400 FR, 200 MR, 400 MR) at the SEC meet.

At the NCAA Championships, he became the first Gator to EVER win a 50-yard freestyle (18.67) NCAA Championship, which he achieved on day one of the competition. Overall, the Green Cove Springs, Fla. product garnered seven All-American accolades that included three as an individual (50 Free, 100 Free*, 100 Fly*) and four as a member on UF’s relays (200 FR*, 400 FR*, 200 MR, 400 MR).

Dressel is the first freshman to earn seven tributes since Shaune Fraser in 2007 (200 IM*, 200 FR*, 400 MR, 200 free, 800 FR, 200 MR*, 200 fly).

Overall as a team, Florida tallied one national title, set four school records and ended the NCAA Championships in fifth place with 248 team points. The meet was held in the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center Natatorium in Iowa City, Iowa.

Since head coach Gregg Troy took over the men’s team before the 1999-2000 season, the Gators have scored a top-10 finish every year at the NCAA meet.

Also the SEC released its 2015 All-SEC and SEC All-Freshman Teams. Florida men were represented with 13 student-athletes and the UF women’s team was represented by seven student-athletes.

First-team All-SEC honors went to those student-athletes who finished first in each event at the SEC Championships in February, including relays. Second-team All-SEC honors went to the second and third-place finishers in each event at the SEC Championships, including relays. The top freshman finisher in each event was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team.

2015 SEC Swimming and Diving Awards
Male Swimmer of the Year: Kristian Gkolomeev, Alabama
Male Freshman of the Year: Caeleb Dressel, Florida
Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Gregg Troy, Florida
Male Diver of the Year: Fraser McKean, Auburn
Male Freshman Diver of the Year: Liam Stone, Tennessee
Men’s Diving Coach of the Year: Dave Parrington, Tennessee
Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Nicolas Fink, Georgia

Female Swimmer of the Year: Sarah Henry, Texas A&M
Female Freshman Swimmer of the Year:      Béryl Gastaldello, Texas A&M
Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Jack Bauerle, Georgia
Female Diver of the Year: Rebecca Hamperian, Kentucky
Female Freshman Diver of the Year: Olivia Ball, Georgia
Women’s Diving Coach of the Year: Ted Hautau, Kentucky
Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Danielle Galyer, Kentucky

All-SEC First Team
Nicholas Alexiou
Mitch D’Arrigo
Caeleb Dressel
Dan Wallace
Pawel Werner

Natalie Hinds
Amelia Maughan
Theresa Michalak
Jessica Thielmann

All-SEC Second Team
Jack Blyzinskyj
Matt Curby
Arthur Frayler
Christian-Paul Homer
Corey Main
Carlos Omana
Eduardo Solaeche-Gomez
Mark Szaranek


Taylor Katz
Ashlee Linn, Florida
Lindsey McKnight, Florida
Kahlia Warner, Florida

All-Freshman Team
Caeleb Dressel, Florida
Mark Szaranek, Florida


Amelia Maughan, Florida

*Denotes Honorable Mention All-American